HomeЛюди и блогиRelated VideosMore From: Minute Book Reports

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck (Book Summary and Review) - Minute Book Report

356 ratings | 56880 views
This is a quick book summary and analysis of Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. This channel discusses and reviews books, novels, and short stories through drawing...poorly. Facebook Page - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Minute-Book-Reports/1148331925195691 This is a story about two friends, George and Lennie, who are on their way to a working farm. George is a small man with lots of big talk. In contrast, Lennie is a simple-minded large man who has a tendency to get in trouble. Both hope to one day own a farm where they can live off the land and Lennie can tend to the rabbits. They enter the farm which is run by Curley, a spoiled, mean boss who challenges George and Lennie immediately upon arrival. Curley is married to a promiscuous woman who is known to cause trouble. On numerous occasions, George warns Lennie to stay away from her. The working life for George and Lennie isn't too bad, as Lennie is a great field worker. Unfortunately, he accidentally kills Curley's wife. In a panic, Lennie flees. Curley sends his men, including George, to hunt down Lennie with a shoot-to-kill policy, as it is suspected that Lennie stole a gun. Lennie runs to a secret spot that George had designated for times of trouble and the two meet there. Lennie is scared and asks George to tell him about their future farm. While telling the story, George pulls out the stolen gun and shoots Lennie in the back of the head. After Lennie's death, the men return to the farm for drinks. The relationship between George and Lennie is complex, yet not so foreign. In contemporary movies and stories, we tend to see this type of relationship a lot - the best friend story. However, the difference here is that there is a tragic element to this relationship. It is still unclear why George stole the gun at the end of the story. One would like to think that he wanted to nobly be the one to kill his friend, but an argument could be made that he wanted to be free of responsibility of Lennie and to be able to live his own life. Taking a step back, this is really a story of misfit toys. Each character - George, Lennie, Curley, his wife, each worker - has been dealt a bad hand in life. And unlike the Christmas special where the misfit toys make it off the island, these misfits are condemned to be doomed. Music by WingoWinston from newgrounds.com.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (39)
Minute Book Reports (1 year ago)
If you found this video helpful, please Like and Share the video with your friends. If you want to know what I’m currently reading, as well as watch other book summaries, please subscribe to the channel. Thanks.
Micro goat (16 days ago)
Curley's wife is not promiscuous
The Leader (25 days ago)
What happen after the ending?
MO AKINYEMI (1 month ago)
There were more relevant points to why George shoot Lennie. For example after reading the book and watching the movie I realised there were similarities between sandy candy's dog and Lenny. Basically sandy was old and as they kept saying over and over not good for himself and better off dead just the Lenny was not good for himself and always finding himself in trouble even though the are not completely the same I sense a connection between the two sandy couldn't help itself (idk whether it's a girl or a boy anymore lol) from being old and useless just the way Lenny couldn't help himself from getting into trouble because of his condition. As a result of sandy's disability he/she was shot. Just the way Lenny was shot at the end because George knew that he was no good to himself. So basically Sandy was a symbol of Lenny's tragic end.
1 sub 2 videos (1 month ago)
George shot Lennie because there was no other way to go by it, if he had fled with Lennie, there wouldn't be Candy to lend money for the ranch w/ George. Curley instructed his men to shoot Lennie in the guts, which as you know, doesn't sound pretty. There is NO way George would've known to shoot Lennie in the back of the head if it weren't for Carlson. Carlson has a lot of experience with guns, considering he knows how to painlessly kill a dog. George shot Lennie in the back of his head so he would die painlessly. (I'm leaving out some reasons, e.g.: he doesn't want someone to kill him out of hate, or "nobody hurts him but me")
Conga dance with me (2 months ago)
Correct me if I’m wrong Chapter 1 introduces lennie and George people who move from ranch to ranch harvesting crops and they also have a similiar dream of owning a farm. In chapter 2 they meet Candy an old worker and they also meet up with their boss and his son curly they had a talk about why they didn’t appear last night.later on the day lennie met with curlys wife who was a flirtatious girl but George noticed the 2 talking and called lennie telling him not to go near her.
Jeff Bradberry (2 months ago)
This wasn’t helpful at all some things weren’t even true
Light Yagami (10 months ago)
Hey, a bit of friendly advice: you may want to study the book a little more carefully. Curley, for example does not own the ranch, but is the boss' son, and so feels as though he does. This is called misuse of natural authority. Also, George shoots Lennie not because he wants to " nobly " kill his friend, and even though he is tired of responsibility over Lennie, it is incredibly unlikely for him to want to shoot him to be free of that pressure. I feel that George shoots Lennie to save him the pain and torture Curley wants to put him through. (Note that George shoots Lennie in the same manner that Carlson shoots Candy's dog, " right in the back of the head " and Carlson reassures Candy that the dog " won't even feel it "). George wants to put Lennie through as little pain as possible. Please take my reasoning into account, and thank you for the summary.
Adaishaan sid (10 months ago)
thnx dear
Prime Local (11 months ago)
this is so wrong
Minute Book Reports (11 months ago)
Thanks for watching. Would really enjoy seeing you make a video that provides a summary according to your interpretation. Please let me know.
Prime Local (11 months ago)
Curley does not run the ranch
Danielle blake (1 year ago)
:(
Nelli Flores312 (1 year ago)
it's important to say that Lenny is mentally behind.[ I didn't know how else to word it] you take away from the simple innocent beauty of the story without saying that.
cvc (2 years ago)
I start tearing up when I hear this story. I have a younger sibling who is mentally challenged in the same way, it irks me in a way I can't explain.
daddy cringe (2 years ago)
I loved this book
Abdulmajeed Almohnna (2 years ago)
thank you very much
Robert G. moses (2 years ago)
depressing😓😓😓😓😓😓😓😭
Minute Book Reports (2 years ago)
+Robert moses Yeah, kind of a tragic story.
Andreas Baader (3 years ago)
It is not run by Curley. It is run by the boss; Curley is the bosses son.
The Icy Serpent (3 years ago)
Curley isn't the boss of the ranch
Brooke Hughes (4 years ago)
I am starting this book in English tomorrow, thank you! 
Jackal (2 years ago)
I just finished the book and my god it was such a good story
Minute Book Reports (4 years ago)
Hope you enjoy the story. 
Mason Dutra (4 years ago)
I can't even count how many things are wrong about what he just said.
Hotrodjman Official (1 year ago)
nomoreprozleft The boss' son.
nomoreprozleft (3 years ago)
+Mason Dutra what is wrong? and who is curley?
Colby Gorman (4 years ago)
It's a story...
pa gallegos (4 years ago)
George was a psycho who promised lenie what he wanted so he could use him.
Bromedy Blank (4 years ago)
George stole the gun cause he didn't want the others to kill him in a slow painful death he wanted to have him die nice and fast
-No_One_Important2011 (4 years ago)
Curley isn't the boss of the ranch and the reason that George shot Lennie... Well if you think back to when Candy said to George "I shoulda shot that dog myself, George.". Really George just wanted Lennie to die peacefully and he knew he had to do it because he would regret it if he didn't. 
TheLautje12 (4 years ago)
+-No_One_Important2011 xD, I just meant you got your knowledge straight
-No_One_Important2011 (4 years ago)
+TheLautje12 I don't at all! I just had to study it for my exam at the beginning of the year. Anyone who picked up the book would know.
TheLautje12 (4 years ago)
U know ur literature!!!
Robbin Benefield (5 years ago)
Great summary!
Reymundo Acuna (5 years ago)
i love you!!!
Minute Book Reports (5 years ago)
Thanks.
Minute Book Reports (5 years ago)
Thanks. There's a new Minute Book Report each week.
Graham Kidd (5 years ago)
I really am liking these videos

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.